Pritzker Prize, the "Nobel of Architecture"

Pritzker Prize, the “Nobel of Architecture,” Celebrates Leading Architects Worldwide and Their Contributions to Society 

The Pritzker Prize, often referred to as the “Nobel of Architecture,” is the highest honor an architect can receive in their lifetime. Established in 1979 by Jay and Cindy Pritzker, the prize annually celebrates an architect whose work has significantly contributed to humanity and the built environment, through the art of architecture. 

This year, Japanese architect Riken Yamamoto was the 2024 laureate, recognized for his commitment to breaking down barriers between public and private spaces, Yamamoto works on projects that promote community living and social integration, as well as designs that integrate natural and built environments. His unique work fosters community integration and social participation through inclusive and innovative architecture.

Architectural Icons: Niemeyer and Paulo Mendes

Two distinguished Brazilian architects have previously been honored with the Pritzker Prize: Oscar Niemeyer in 1988 and Paulo Mendes da Rocha in 2006. Niemeyer, one of the most renowned architects globally, left an indelible mark with iconic works such as the Palácio do Planalto in Brasília, the Copan Building in São Paulo, and the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. Mendes da Rocha is known for projects like the Museum of the Portuguese Language, Sesc 24 de Maio in São Paulo, and the renovation of the Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo from 1993 to 1998. 

Álvaro Siza: Master of Contextual Design

In 2022, Dell Anno honored Álvaro Siza, the 1992 Pritzker Prize laureate, through its Singular campaign. Siza, a leading contemporary architect, is known for merging aesthetic sensitivity with practical functionality. Notable projects include the reconstruction of the Chiado area in Lisbon after the 1988 fire, the Faculty of Information Sciences in Santiago de Compostela, and the Rector’s Office Building in the University of Alicante. Siza’s works span the globe, and his only Brazilian project, the Iberê Camargo Foundation Museum, is located in Porto Alegre. This venue served as the starting point for the “From Porto to Porto” exhibition by Dell Anno, celebrating Siza’s profound influence and the distinctive legacy of one of architecture’s most significant figures.

In essence, the Pritzker Prize not only recognizes the individual brilliance and groundbreaking contributions of architects worldwide but also honors the profound relationship they cultivate between architecture, design, and society, transforming our understanding of past, present, and future interactions with the built environment. 

Dell Anno can help you to customize and develop the Stage of your dreams. So, check out our stores on the link below.

Don’t Miss out

Stay up to date about products, news and events